Christian Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• Focus on the Family

Strengthening families through biblical principles.

Focus on the Family addresses the use of biblical principles in parenting and marriage to strengthen the family.

• Guest, Join Papa Zoom today for some uplifting biblical encouragement! --> Daily Verses
  • The Gospel of Jesus Christ

Heard of "The Gospel"? Want to know more?

There is salvation in no other, for there is not another name under heaven having been given among men, by which it behooves us to be saved."

what books did paul write?

Donations

Total amount
$1,592.00
Goal
$5,080.00
I'm not a Bible expert (I say that a lot haha), but if I'm not mistaken, Hebrews is the only epistle whose authorship is uncertain. Even though it's commonly attributed to Paul, most scholars don't believe it, because its style differs so much from the ones we "know" he wrote:

Romans, 1 & 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 & 2 Thessalonians, 1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, and Philemon.

I put "know" in parenthesis because many scholars will say we have no concrete proof Paul actually wrote any of those, but agree that at least seven are genuine - Romans, 1 & 2 Corinthians, Philemon, 1 Thessalonians, Galatians, and Philippians. However, we also have no proof that Shakespeare actually wrote his plays. And there's less proof of the existence of Alexander the Great than there is that Paul wrote the epistles. Sorry to swerve off topic but had to put my two cents in there. ;)

Basically, it's commonly accepted that Paul wrote 13 epistles. Hebrews (contested), James, 1 & 2 Peter, 1, 2, & 3 John, Jude, and Revelation are the only ones he didn't write.